Recruitment Team


At the University of South Alabama, we believe in the importance of providing personal attention to each individual within the context of the university admissions process. Our admissions counselors will be available and accessible to you throughout the college search and application process.

Use the Find Your Admissions Counselor page and select the options that will help you to find your personal recruitment counselor or choose from the list below.


Kristin Odom
New Student Recruitment

Local Schools: Bayside Academy, UMS-Wright

Call or text: (251) 220-5505

Office: (251) 460-7795



Bethany Brown
Associate Director
New Student Recruitment

Call or text: (251) 460-1040

Office: (251) 460-7719


Kristi Clayton

Kristi Clayton

Senior Admissions Officer

Local Schools: Saraland HS, Satsuma HS, Theodore HS, Alma Bryant HS, Alabama School of Math & Science


Arkansas, Colorado, Idaho, Iowa, Indiana Kansas, Michigan, Minnesota, Missouri, Montana, Nebraska, New Mexico, North Dakota, Oklahoma, South Dakota, Utah, Wyoming

Call or text: (251) 220-6778

Call: 251-461-1916


Courtney Varner

Courtney Varner
Recruitment Counselor

AL Community Colleges: Bishop State, Coastal Alabama, Mississippi Gulf Coast

Special: Second Bachelor's

Call or text: (251) 220-9873

Office: (251) 460-7971



Lindsay Laubenthal

Recruitment Counselor, Orientation

Local Schools: Chickasaw HS, Citronelle HS, St. Paul's Episcopal, St. Luke's Episcopal, McGill-Toolen Catholic HS, Wesleyan Christian, Davidson HS 

Alaska, Arizona, California, Georgia, Hawaii, Nevada, North Carolina, Oregon, South Carolina, Washington

Call or text: (251) 220-6297

Office: (251) 461-1913



Brandon Cox

Admissions Officer

Local Schools: Baker HS

AL Counties: Baldwin

Connecticut, District of Columbia, Delaware, Kentucky, Maine, Maryland, Massachusetts, New Hampshire, New York, Rhode Island, Vermont, Virginia, West Virginia

Call or text: (251) 220-6081

Office: (251) 461-1674


Admissions Officer

Admissions Officer

Local Schools: Cottage Hill Christian, Faith Academy, Grace Baptist Academy, J.B. Shelton Academy, Mary G Montgomery HS, Mobile Christian, Stanford Christian Academy, All Mobile County Homeschools 



Call or text: (251) 220-7014

Office: (251) 460-7834



James Barlow

James Barlow
Recruitment Counselor

Local Schools: Al-Iman Academy, Lighthouse Baptist Academy, Murphy HS and Murphy Adult, Rock School, Williamson HS, BC Rain HS, Blount HS, Leflore HS, Vigor HS



Call or text: (251) 220-6763

Call: 251-460-7721


Regional Recruiters


Mike Hryndza
Assistant Director, Out-of-State Regional Student Recruitment

Illinois, Ohio, Wisconsin


Call or text: (251) 220-6054

Office: (251) 533-5887


Jen H

Jennifer Henderson
Senior Admissions Officer, In-State Regional Student Recruitment

AL Counties: Calhoun, Cherokee, Clay, Cleburne, Etowah, Jefferson, Randolph, Shelby, St. Clair, Talladega, Choctaw, Clarke, Conecuh, Escambia, Greene, Hale, Marengo, Monroe, Perry, Sumter, Washington, Bibb, Fayette, Lamar, Pickens, Tuscaloosa, Walker


Call or text: (251) 220-9559

Office: (251) 525-3757



Jade Chappelle
Admissions Officer

AL Counties: Blount, Colbert, Cullman, DeKalb, Franklin, Jackson, Lauderdale, Lawrence, Limestone, Madison, Marshall, Morgan, Marion, Winston



Office: (251) 460-7834


K Bandy

Kathryn Bandy

Admissions Officer

AL Counties: Autauga, Barbour, Bullock, Butler, Chambers, Chilton, Coffee, Coosa, Covington, Crenshaw, Dale, Dallas, Elmore, Geneva, Henry, Houston, Lee, Lowndes, Macon, Montgomery, Pike, Russell, Tallapoosa

Call or text: (251) 220-8511

Office: (251) 525-3758



Anna Buie
Admissions Officer

AL Community Colleges: Central Alabama, Chattahoochee Valley, Enterprise State, Ingram State, LB Wallace, Southern Union State, Trenholm State, Calhoun State, Drake State, GC Wallace, NE Alabama, NW-Shoals, Snead State, Marion Military, Reid State, Bevill State, Shelton State, Gadsden State, Jefferson State, Lawson State

Call or text: (251) 220-6857

Office: (251) 259-6555



Kandace Cox
Admissions Officer


Call or text: (251) 220-6610

Office: (251) 533-8874

Communication Center


Serena McCovery
Associate Director
Communication Center


Enrollment Services Organizational Chart